asphodellium

5AM in beijing

Posted on: 25 May 2011

It seems all my muscles from the waist down are sore from walking. Abs included. How does that even work?

The Beijing subway system is great, very convenient.  Takes you all over the city for the equivalent of thirty cents a transfer. So while dad was whisked away on other business, the remaining four of us hit up Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, and the Summer Palace.

Tiananmen is like the Washington, DC of China. All those important-looking monuments and government buildings I can’t identify. Oh yeah, and that giant picture of Mao. We spent the greater part of the morning in the Forbidden City, peeking into ancient throne rooms and climbing into urns.

My feet started hurting as we walked from the Summer Palace back to the subway. Maybe flip flops were a bad idea. Then again I often run or walk long distances in unorthodox footwear. Kevin was wearing runners and got blisters anyway. I don’t have any blisters, just two places where the skin rubbed off my toe.

It was worth it, though, because at dusk we found a night market. Hard to miss when the first stall was selling LIVE SCORPION SKEWERS. (I once showered with one of those creatures!) THEY WERE MOVING. Though they deep-fry them for you if you buy.

We snagged an ocarina for 20 RMB. WIN! Now I can play at being Totoro. Also, I lasted the whole day without having to use a public squatter toilet.

1 Response to "5AM in beijing"

[…] the end of May, Kevin and I fly to Beijing with my family, then my hometown Changsha, then Lijiang. We spend our third wedding anniversary in […]

Leave a Reply

