asphodellium

family matters

Posted on: 29 May 2011

Tomorrow afternoon we leave Changsha for Yunnan. I’m blown away by the hospitality and generosity of my relatives. Eleven years, and it’s like picking up right where we left off.

Actually, we “left off” way back in 1989, when I trailed my parents to Canada. Since then I’ve only been back twice, for five weeks at the age of nine and for three weeks at fourteen. I’m guessing mom wanted to distance David and me from the very materialistic worldview they espouse here. I understand that; yet part of me wonders what it’d be like to live with extended family nearby. It’s sad how little I know about them.

So I wouldn’t mind staying longer. But I couldn’t live here. I miss having a view unobstructed by smog. I miss being able to breathe deeply without choking on cigarette smoke and random whiffs of sewage.

The food is fantastic, though, super flavorful. And we’ve tried loach, wild boar, deer, soft-shelled turtle, snake.

1 Response to "family matters"

[…] the end of May, Kevin and I fly to Beijing with my family, then my hometown Changsha, then Lijiang. We spend our third wedding anniversary in Shangri-La, not wholly unaffected by […]

Leave a Reply

