asphodellium

so far so good

Posted on: 8 December 2011

The other day, a friend asked me what I thought the weirdest thing about pregnancy was so far.

It’s the belly.

It’s starting to become this extra appendage that interferes with everyday activities, such as sleeping and bending over. It’s foreign, having a bump there. I’m quite fascinated by it.

We’re in the “cute bump” stage, I know. In another month or so I may be ginormous and whalelike, and then I’ll have a much deeper understanding of interference. Pregnancy hasn’t slowed me down much, yet. My abs can still handle the extra weight, so I haven’t had to resort to pushing myself up into a sitting position with my arms, etc. Though … I can’t run up three flights of stairs to the skytrain anymore without losing my breath. I can still run across the street to catch a bus without losing my breath, and I know this because it happened today. Thankfully no older-generation Asians were there then to yell at me.

As far as extra weight goes, I’ve gained ten pounds, putting me securely in the triple digits for the first time ever. (We don’t have a scale at home, but both sets of parents do.) Ten pounds at 22/23 weeks didn’t sound like much, but at my checkup on Tuesday the midwife assured us it was perfectly normal.

She also dashed our hopes of getting another ultrasound. They can’t book one just for gender assessment, which is non-medically necessary, and munchkin is too healthy.

The last ultrasound showed an anterior placenta, so maybe that’s why munchkin skipped the whole fluttery thing and went straight to bumpin’ and thumpin’. It feels like a bunny. Some of the bigger moves must be externally visible by now, I just haven’t checked to confirm.

And I’m noticing what I think are Braxton-Hicks. You can almost SEE the outline of the uterus then … so much for not being able to find it!

Leave a Reply

