asphodellium

prenatal ramblings

Posted on: 16 December 2011

Wait, I’m nearing the end of second trimester already? Munchkin’s expected due date is less than four months away? When did this happen and HOW COME NO ONE WARNED ME?

All along I’ve been thinking there’s still plenty of time …

We haven’t gotten anything ready, baby-wise. Except two carseats (note to self: check expiry dates) and two little toques, which were early gifts. No sleep space, no diapers, no clothing or blankets. No nursery. So, umm, yeah. We’ll have to get on that soon. I just hate how the industry is so consumer-ish. (How is a simple ring sling over $100? Isn’t it just a swatch of fabric I could make myself? And yes, those tiny infant shoes are adorable, but before baby can walk, why does he even need shoes?)

Anyway.

week 24/23

week 25/24

 

 

 

 

 

Apparently I only look pregnant in profile, not from the front or back – except that I have no waist now, heh. I’ve seen pregnant women sort of plump up and gain evenly all over, and they look adorable, but I guess I’m not one of those. In fact my joints are still really bony. Especially my elbows.

I haven’t noticed any significant difference in hair or nails … I play keys, so I keep my nails short most of the time. They feel weird and uncomfortable when they get too long, but they’ve never been prone to breakage. As for hair, I have a ton, and I lose a ton … until second trimester! I don’t plug up the drain every time I shower anymore! And I’m not picking loose strands from my pillow in the mornings! This is awesome, except they say it goes back to normal after delivery, in which case I’ll probably need to vacuum every six hours.

Also, my belly button is starting to look very strange. It’s, like, flat and about to pop.

For six months Kevin’s been trying to get me to sleep early, without much success. Thing is, I have trouble falling asleep at night. But eventually I do, and then (unless there’s something I need to be up for) I sleep through most of the morning. I’m sooo sleepy and comfortable in the mornings, except that I usually need to pee, but more often than not sleep wins. Hooray for bladder control.

1 Response to "prenatal ramblings"

You look gorgeous in your profile photo! The bump looks really cute! Do you know what your having? I’ve found my nails and hair are growing really nicely now im pregnant and sleeping in the morning is sooo good. I seem to sleep all the time until about 5pm now. hah. Lovely entry.

🙂

Leave a Reply

