asphodellium

a little less clueless than i was last august

Posted on: 16 February 2012

We’re slowly checking items off the baby needs list. Just as I became all motivated to get everything ready, Kevin caught his sister’s cold and was all, “I’m sick – stay away from me!” for a week. Not very conducive to Valentine’s Day cuddles, sadly.

Between gifts trickling in, hand-me-downs, thrift stores and Craigslist, we haven’t spent any significant amount of money on munchkin to date. Well under $100. Today we find ourselves with two slings, two strollers, a baby swing and rocker seat and bouncy chair, a change table. Munchkin isn’t even here yet, and we have extra items to pass on!

I’ve sorted through two lots of clothing, and we have a comfortable start on munchkin’s wardrobe from 0 through 24 months. It leans ever so slightly towards “boy,” because for some reason girls’ clothing lots are overwhelmingly pink. I figure a girl can wear denim overalls, but a boy can’t really rock a pink dress …

As far as I know, there are two big-ticket items left to obtain – a crib and diapers. And I expect the diapers to be the bigger splurge, because we’re most likely going cloth.

I feel like this post calls for pictures, but I’m lazy. It’s raining and the lighting sucks. Also, I have some translation work to finish before Saturday, which I’ve been putting off in favour of blogging.

Leave a Reply

