asphodellium

making room for munchkin

Posted on: 16 March 2012

Our baby stuff is scattered around the house. Actually, there’s not that much baby stuff. People think babies are expensive, that you need to afford to have kids, but that’s only if you fall for all the marketing gimmicks. Especially the ones that play off the insecurities of first-time mothers.

Here’s the glider in the living room.

We weren’t planning on having a glider, but then this one showed up on Craigslist for free! (I have some crazy stories to tell about Craigslist, having never used it until recently, but don’t know if I’ll ever get to them. I don’t know if I have enough energy for that kind of crazy.)

At one point we had four baby swings/rockers/vibrating bouncy chairs. My favourite is the Bright Starts InGenuity portable swing we picked up from the hand-me-down exchange corner of my midwifery clinic. I love that corner. And they should make adult versions of these things.

We might keep another rocker on standby for a while, in case munchkin is contrary and decides to hate this one. (S/he was contrary enough to be uncooperative at the big twenty-week ultrasound, after all.) The rocker came with a ring sling and the above change table, another Craigslist find at $20. If we weren’t planning to cloth diaper, we might not have bothered with a change table, but I figured a change station of sorts would be easier with cloth. Once we have a diaper pail I’ll move the swing elsewhere.

I didn’t consider a stroller to be particularly essential, but a colleague of Kevin’s very kindly passed down her Graco Mosaic travel system to us. After fussing with it endlessly, because that thing is quite nifty, I’ve parked it in a corner of our dining area. She also gave us a newborn-to-toddler bathtub. Speaking of tubs, my friend had her baby last October, and during his first bath she accidentally dropped her husband’s new iPhone 4S into the water.

I’m probably on record for wondering why baby shoes even exist, but then I came across these. For 99 cents. And I succumbed.

Some time later, one mother informed me that baby shoes are for keeping their socks on. I feel sufficiently justified. These, and the rest of munchkin’s squee-inducing wardrobe are in an old dresser in the guest room that never became a nursery.

I like the idea of a nursery, but I’m not sure how practical it would be for us to have everything in a single small room in one corner of the house. Chances are, not very.

1 Response to "making room for munchkin"

Those shoes are adorable. Someone gave us a pair of baby Toms shoes and I kind of felt bad that she spent so much money on them considering that the baby will never wear them, but if they keep the socks on, then I guess they’ll serve some purpose.

Leave a Reply

